The Ministry of Health will officially name the three hospitals in Vietnam that are permitted to perform transgender surgery in early May, said Mr. Nguyen Huy Quang, Director of the Department of Legal Affairs, Ministry of Health. Quang said that the law prohibits medical intervention in completed cases on sex, men are men, women are women. But those with sexual defects at birth, or the gender has not been fixed yet, the law allows medical intervention to redefine the gender. It’s true need of society, because according to statistics, in 2,000 newborn babies, one has genitals not fit to the chromosome. And 1 in each 11,000 people has gender disability or unclear gender. These defects stem from genetic mutations or defects, not from psychological factors due to social interaction.

“Socially, such children need medical intervention to get their true sex. The Ministry of Health has issued Circular 29/2010/TT-BYT guiding technical implementation on gender redefining. Accordingly, the Ministry of Health has assigned three hospitals – the Central Pediatrics Hospital, Viet Duc Hospital in Hanoi and the Children’s Hospital 2 in HCM City to prepare facilities, equipment and human resources to perform transgender surgery from May,” Quang said.

News Report.


Pham Van Hiep (Vietnam)

Vietnam’s first and only transgender person whose new sex was officially recognized will lose that recognition after the Ministry of Justice realized that it flouts a law prohibiting gender reassignment if sexual organs are fully developed.

The People’s Committee of the southern province of Binh Phuoc ordered the local Department of Justice to rescind two decisions made by the Chon Thanh District administration in 2009 to recognize Pham Van Hiep’s new gender and name after the 39-year-old man has sex reassignment surgery in Thailand.

News Report.


Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Ten nations of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) signed a declaration of human rights that does not include protection from discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity.

The nations of ASEAN are Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam, forming a collective population of 600 million people.

ASEAN Human Rights Declaration


Phnom Penh Statement 

News Report.