Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN)

Ten nations of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) signed a declaration of human rights that does not include protection from discrimination based on sexual orientation or gender identity.

The nations of ASEAN are Indonesia, Malaysia, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand, Brunei, Burma, Cambodia, Laos and Vietnam, forming a collective population of 600 million people.

ASEAN Human Rights Declaration


Phnom Penh Statement 

News Report.


Four transsexuals challenged an Islamic law barring men from dressing or behaving as women in Malaysia. The landmark case was heard on Thursday at the Seremban high court, just south of Kuala Lumpur, where the four claimed the Sharia law of the state of Negeri Sembilan infringed on their rights enshrined in the federal constitution.

Homosexuality and transsexual lifestyles remain taboo and are considered a social and moral ill by many in Malaysia, where sodomy is punishable by up to 20 years in prison. The plaintiffs have previously been arrested under Section 66 of the Syariah Criminal (Negeri Sembilan) Enactment, which bars Muslim men from dressing or posing as women, with Juzaili and Shukor currently facing charges in court.

The constitution states that “no person shall be deprived of his life or personal liberty”, bars discrimination on the grounds “of religion, race, descent, place of birth or gender” (see page 27) and protects freedom of expression.

Source and source.

Court information.

Legal Brief.